Mineral Expectations, by Bruce Dethlefsen

My goodness, this poem could not be any better…

Mineral Expectations

limestone awfully lonesome

since my father’s gone

and miss our little talcs

and conversations

how I marbled

at the strength of this good man

a grocer who would sandstone much all day

that he developed varicosities

in both his legs and never once complained

even though I took his love for granite

I can still recoal his exact words and sediments

it slate for him he’d say too late

but you shale mica difference in this world

he’d point at me and shake his finger

of quartz he understood and wished for me

not just the same old schist

but a future that pyrites

would be mined

and mined alone

– Bruce Dethlefsen

Leave a Reply

