The Pigeon Handler

A friend and I stopped at an overlook a couple of weeks ago and while we were standing there, admiring the view, a man drove up, got out of his car, and nonchalantly began removing boxes from the trunk and lining them up on the wall.

We stared rudely, exchanging a quick glance.  We heard a rustling from within the boxes.  Finally, he said, “Good morning.”

“Good morning,” responded my friend and, braver than I, she said, “May we ask what’s in the boxes?”

“Homing pigeons!” he responded cheerfully.

“Oh,” we both hurried forward and peered into the boxes.  Beady red eyes peered back at us and the pigeons began cooing peacefully.

IMG_3860

We hovered and I snapped a few photos while the man released some pigeons and told us about how they were being trained for a race.

IMG_3861

IMG_3862

It was tough to catch a photo of a pigeon flying out of his hands.  They’re wings beat so quickly that it’s tough to get the shutter speed right!

IMG_3872

IMG_3863

IMG_3866

I just like this one because he looks like a pitcher rounding up for a pitch.

IMG_3871

Actually, he lets them go like this.

IMG_3868

I think that’s my best photo.

Amazing who you run into at the moments when you least expect it!

4 thoughts on “The Pigeon Handler

  1. How cool! I didn’t know that they did things like that any more. When I was a child, a neighbor raced pigeons, and I adored visiting his flock. I thought it was a lost art. Good to know it’s not.

  2. As a Londoner I actually like pigeons and enjoy watching the pigeon doves land in our garden after the other birds have finished feeding, to pick up scraps from the feeders. Our pigeons have gotten a lot fatter since we arrived, they probably need some exercise like these pigeon racers 🙂

Leave a Reply

