Mulch Andrena

I visited my parents last weekend to help them put a lot of mulch down in the garden (and to battle back huge aggressive weeds!).  At the end of the day, I noticed a bee zipping around the fresh mulch.  When I looked closer, I noticed it was a little Andrena.  She was zipping back and forth in one corner of the garden, and I realized that we had inadvertently covered up a nesting site with the mulch.

She seemed determined though, zooming around and around and never landing.  So of course I ran to get my camera and plopped down on my belly in the grass near her haunt.  She NEVER landed, which made photographing her a challenge, but I’m kind of amazed that I did end up with some halfway decent shots.

IMG_4338

VRRRROOOOMmmmmm

I mean, this is a bee that is only a few millimeters long, moving at high speeds in unpredictable patterns. I was using a manual focus and a macro lens.  I was lucky to get anything!

IMG_4342

Okay, so I got a few shots like this. I was clearly just trying to capture the beauty of a blade of grass, DUH.

IMG_4347

Tiny bee, big yard.

IMG_4353

Inspecting the mulch.

IMG_4354

I can’t believe this is (mostly) in focus.

IMG_4355

IMG_4360

This was meant to be artsy.  Ahem.

IMG_4334

My best shot of the bunch!!

I should end this story on a happy note…she did eventually find her nest!  Even though we completely changed the landscape cues and covered the ground in stinky mulch.  How did she find it?  Bees are amazing.

15 thoughts on “Mulch Andrena

Leave a Reply

