Ruby throated hummingbirds

The ruby-throated (Archilochus colubris) is the only hummingbird species we get in this part of the world.  That’s pretty good compared to Australia, which doesn’t have ANY hummingbirds, but not so good compared to Colombia, which has 162 species.  (Colombia has the highest hummingbird diversity in the world and when I was there, I only saw ONE hummingbird. 😦 )

We may only have one species, but it’s a lovely one.  I stood around at my friend’s feeder for the better part of an hour trying to get some good shots of the hummers…these are the ones I thought you might like!

DSC_0185

Male

DSC_0203

Female, and before you ask, no I don’t know what is on her bill.  I’m guessing pollen?

DSC_0269

The iridescent neck patch doesn’t look very exciting when there’s no light.

DSC_0274

Context shot? Sometimes I have to resist my natural inclination to zoom in as much as possible on EVERYTHING.

DSC_0206

DSC_0304

Flying!

DSC_0288

YAWN

DSC_0294

You wouldn’t believe how many shots I got of this feeder.

DSC_0300

“We’re too fast for you, SOIMF!”  😛

DSC_0350

Mood lighting on Pollen lady again.

DSC_0369

DSC_0371

DSC_0319

CLOSE UP ON EVERYTHING

DSC_0331

Even hummingbirds have trouble balancing some days.

DSC_0386

4 thoughts on “Ruby throated hummingbirds

  1. Australia may have no hummingbirds but it does have lots of honeyeaters and other pollinating birds. Plus a bunch of pollinating marsupials – beat that Colombia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

