Where the thunder-chickens roam

Another belated hiking post from a few weeks ago.  A friend and I were exploring a little known bird reserve and he pointed out the distinctive drumming of the Ruffed Grouse (also known as the thunder-chicken).  It was pretty exciting, so I found a youtube video to share with you!

It was also a beautiful forest!  (With lots of hemlocks, my favourite.)

IMG_4556

We could hear the grouse off in the green ferns bordering the forest.

IMG_4555

But, as it was a reserve, we didn’t want to leave the trails to chase the wildlife.

IMG_4520

Hey, I can be respectful (sometimes).

IMG_4521

IMG_4522

IMG_4523

IMG_4524

IMG_4525

I just never get tired of photos of trails through forests.

IMG_4526

IMG_4527

This was a glorious old red oak.

IMG_4529

I’m trying to master some black and white photography (hard for me because I LOVE colour).

IMG_4531

We came across this wetland.

IMG_4539

With an *extremely* dodgy boardwalk leading to an overlook.

IMG_4535

We stepped carefully, sure to keep our weight on the cross ties, which were thicker than the boards.

IMG_4536

IMG_4569

Anania funebris (a day flying moth)

IMG_4540

Ah, hemlocks…

IMG_4545

Star flower!  Trientalis borealis

IMG_4549

IMG_4550

These huge fallen trees are fun.

IMG_4552

Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Where the thunder-chickens roam

  1. I love your photos of dark forests with light penetrating, I’ld venture to say you capture that better than anything, really wonderful. I love hearing that sound, I never knew it was a bird! Thanks for sharing!

    • You’re sweet! I love your photos, though. Rascal didn’t come on this walk…she’s not allowed in the bird reserve. (We sneak her into bird reserves sometimes, but we always get in trouble.) I bet she would have found one of those thunder chickens for us!

      • What? Rascal left at home? Blaspheme! Who will keep you out of trouble? The bird-loving side of you battling it out with the dog-loving side. Must be tough sometimes!

      • Haha it IS tough! Although I have to say that with the way Rascal has been farting lately, we’re a little less reluctant to leave her at home! No one can clear a room like Rascal when she has gas.

      • Ha, ha! I have a dog I thought was half skunk. Then I switched him to a grain-free diet and the wicked gas is gone! It might be worth a try…

      • She does eat a grain free diet most of the time, but she lives on a farm and has no fences, so she often catches and eats stinky things on her own. Oh and then there are the leftovers everyone feeds her haha!

Leave a Reply

