Puffin and Heron (drawing)

There’s a bit of a story behind this silly drawing…I have a friend (whose favourite bird is the puffin), who has a boyfriend. Her boyfriend was teaching an ornithology field course and there was a girl in the class who had a crush on him. She confided to a friend, “He’s so tall and graceful, just like a Great Blue Heron!”

So my friend who loves the puffin constantly teases her boyfriend about being a Great Blue Heron.  And you know how I am about favourite birds…soo…

Puffin (Fratercula arctica) and Heron (Ardea herodias)

Puffin (Fratercula arctica) and Heron (Ardea herodias)

This drawing is a weird blend of media, because I am always experimenting with backgrounds.  The grass is acrylic, the water is watercolour, and the birds and reeds are coloured pencil.  Hm… not sure I like it, but ok!

4 thoughts on “Puffin and Heron (drawing)

  1. Lovely! The different mediums all came together rather well, I think! Of course, great blue heron is my favorite bird, for rather unexpected reasons. If you’re curious, I can tell you why on Sunday! Looking forward to a cup of tea with you.

Leave a Reply

