Hummingbird Highlights, Part 2 (Arizona)

These were wild hummingbirds I photographed in AZ, as opposed to the well behaved aviary birds at the Sonoran Desert Museum. Because of this, these photos are not quite as nice, although I like to think they are still attractive.  🙂

Hummingbirds

She looks so pleased with herself

Hummingbirds

There’s a story behind this bird (and photo)…I spotted it at Walnut Canyon and before my friend could say “hey, wait a minute”, I stole his telephoto lens and ducked under a fence, skidding along down a chunk of granite rock to get a photo of the bird.  As I perched there, snapping photos, I slid a little further down the rock and heard a RRRRRIIPP.

I finished getting photos of the bird, of course, but when I returned bashfully to the path, I turned my back on my friend to get him to assess* the damage.  “Yep,” he said, in response to the question, which was of course, is my underwear now flapping in the breeze for all the world to see?

I had ripped a giant hole in the rear of my trousers, and they were my only pair for the next two and a half weeks.  Luckily, my friend was generous enough to loan me his extra pair, although being seven inches taller than me and very muscly, he’s a bit wider around the waist, so we had to also find a rope to tie them on with.  Le sigh…what I do for hummingbirds.

Hummingbirds

So worth it!

Hummingbirds

Hummingbirds

Fat hummingbird

Hummingbirds

😛

Hummingbirds

Pretty guy in Phoenix

Hummingbirds

These flowers were always in shade, so it was hard to get photos of the hummers there

Hummingbirds

*hehehe

7 thoughts on “Hummingbird Highlights, Part 2 (Arizona)

    • I know! Hummingbirds and woodpeckers…you guys are missing out on two really cool groups. But you have bee-eaters and sunbirds and honeyeaters that we don’t have. (And kookaburras and bowerbirds and and and) Thank you 🙂

  1. Pingback: Other Arizona Birds | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

