Madrean Alligator Lizard

I spotted a juvenile alligator lizard winding its way along a gravel path and it looked so much like a snake.  I thought, “What is THAT…I have to catch it.”  So I did.  I would have sworn it was a skink, but the alligator lizards aren’t even in the same family; they’re in the Anguidae, which also includes glass lizards, which look EVEN MORE like snakes given that they don’t have any legs.

Madrean Alligator Lizard

Elgaria kingii

Madrean Alligator Lizard

Madrean Alligator Lizard

Apparently, the adults have a nasty bite, so I was lucky to catch a juvenile!

Madrean Alligator Lizard

I did spot this adult a couple of days later but I couldn’t catch it.  It looks like it was almost caught before, from the looks of its tail.

One thought on “Madrean Alligator Lizard

  1. Pingback: Looking at a Lizard, by Barry Spacks | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

