Windowstrike

My first day of work here, I kid you not, I found a perfect little ovenbird sitting right in front of the front door. There is a lot of foot traffic here, so I scooped him up in my hand and checked him over.  He seemed uninjured so I suspect he only glancingly struck a window and was a bit stunned.

D'awwww

D’awwww

Of course, I was just on time for a 9 o’clock meeting, so I rushed up the stairs with bird in hand.  My new adviser came out of her office to greet me, with a smile and her hand extended to shake mine.

“I have a bird,” I blurted, to explain why I couldn’t shake her hand.

“I can see that,” she replied calmly.

So I asked for a couple of minutes to take the bird to a nearby patch of trees (ovenbirds are technically warblers, but they feed on the ground), and apologized.  She just responded, cryptically, “That’s okay, it’s a very SOIMF* thing to do.”

The ovenbird seemed spry enough when I released him in the forest, and promptly ran off.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera on me at the time, but I did get these crappy flip phone photos!

Run free little dude!

Run free little dude!

It was pretty exciting, actually.  I’ve never been that close to an ovenbird before, and certainly never held one.  He was really beautiful!

* StandingOut In My Field

8 thoughts on “Windowstrike

Leave a Reply

