Farewell to New York: Musically updated!

I just thought of a great song to go along with this post…I’m totally in love with the voices of the Staves, and this song is my favourite:

This post is a few weeks late, as all my posts seem to be these days.  Oh well, it should keep me occupied well into the winter.

This was my last hike around New York, in the gorgeous forest behind my apartment.  I do miss it…this move has been rougher than most, though I’m not sure why.  Many contributing factors, I guess…my landlady/housemate hates me because I use the kitchen too much (and thusly, I had to find a new place to live within two weeks of moving here), because of this, and because all of my closest friendships seem to be going haywire (probably because I am horrible when stressed). My adviser noticed that I was stressed and called me into her office to tell me to buck up because “at least you’re not a Syrian refugee.”  This is true.  At least I am not that.  (Although I’m not sure how politically correct it is to compare a little stress with being a refugee from a war-torn country.)

Here’s to nostalgia for my calm New York backyard forest, and here’s hoping things improve soon for the Syrian refugees.

Nothing like a little overphotoindulgence on a Tuesday…

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

New York

Shadow selfie

New York

New York

Of course, in New York there are also waterfalls in your backyard.

New York

Long exposure ripples

New York

New York

New York

New York

Male bumbler just sleeping under a leaf, no biggie

New York

4 thoughts on “Farewell to New York: Musically updated!

  1. Sorry it’s been so rough. Maybe this time you’re leaving good friends behind (rather than just right-now-friends. I’m going to miss Rascal pics!

Leave a Reply

