Take a hike! (with me?) Shingletown Gap (2)

Guys, I am SUPER excited about these photos from Shingletown Gap.  A couple of weeks ago, I had a really rough day, so I decided to book it after work and bike out to the nearby state forest for a hike.  I hopped on my bike and rode there as fast as I could, but the light was already failing when I got there.

I hiked anyway, and took a million photos, thinking all of them would be worthless, but…I actually think they turned out pretty nice!  The forest looks kind of jungle-sexy* and mysterious in the fading light (in my humble opinion). I’m happy that, given the conditions, I could get some nice (in my opinion!) photos of a place I truly love.

(Of course, maybe I’m just in one of those moods where I like everything.) I hope you like them too. 🙂

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
Tons of rhododendrons

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
Old birches

Shingleton Gap
It’s like the secret garden

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
No waterfalls in PA, but some pretty babbling brooks

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
Two kinds of shelf fungus

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
I love this one

Shingleton Gap
K!

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap
Contrast of light birches and dark hemlocks

Shingleton Gap
Hemlocks unfortunately hit hard by the woolly adelgid

Shingleton Gap
Yessssssss…

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Shingleton Gap

Thanks for reading!

*Hi, I’m an ecologist and I think jungles are sexy.

4 thoughts on “Take a hike! (with me?) Shingletown Gap (2)

Leave a Reply

