Some Costa Rican Lizards

Costa Rica
Anolis lizards are the most common…they are very dominant in the tropics
Costa Rica
Look at that smug mug
Costa Rica
Juvenile Anolis
Costa Rica
Another juvenile Anolis…I got so excited thinking these guys were geckos (only a couple of centimeters long!) that I caught one and brought it back to the station only to learn it was just another Anolis…le sigh.
Costa Rica
Cute, though!
Costa Rica
This is also how I sleep
Costa Rica
Adult Anolis…yes those teeth are capable of drawing blood (don’t ask me how I know)
Costa Rica
Heeeeyyy…
Costa Rica
Baby Anolis with prey
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
This lizard is a master of chillaxin (we call this a Basilisk or Jesus Christ lizard because it can run across water)
Costa Rica
Chillaxin level: one toe
Costa Rica
An iguana…
Costa Rica
…with a mosquito. So often in the tropics, I will be photographing one thing and later, looking at my photos, will see something I completely missed at the time. In this case, a mosquito feeding on the iguana.

Leave a Reply

