Toucan play at this game

One of my favourite bird interactions in Costa Rica was with this toucan. It was the second to last day at Campanario, and I was starting to get depressed that I hadn’t seen any toucans yet. It turned out to be an amazing day…more on that later.
But one of the most amazing parts was this toucan that played with me and let me photograph it. It started out really far away but I took a bunch of photos thinking that was the best I was going to get. But then it landed in a Cecropia tree farther down and I bushwhacked my way in close to get some better photos. It was so much fun. Looking at these photos now I think I would do anything to go back, haha.
These are my two best photos:
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
But because I love this bird so much, here are a bunch more (maybe for artists who want to draw toucans from a whole bunch of perspectives, haha):
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Toucan about to launch
Costa Rica
Toucan mid-flight
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica

11 thoughts on “Toucan play at this game

  1. Oh how breathtaking! They are all beautiful. I love the different poses and then had to remember to breathe when I looked at the silhouette of the toucan in flight. Love it! Our cockatoo flies around our house and we love that, but nothing compares with the sense of freedom of wild birds in flight. I think they quite pity us, so earthbound. Your toucan looked so bright-eyed and healthy! I can just imagine how his feathers feel to pet…. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: A pack of peccaries (or a peck of packeries?) | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

