Snowy Egret fishing in the ocean

I wrote a letter to my friend each day while I was in Costa Rica, and each day I settled on an “animal of the day” (or two!). One day, it was this snowy egret. I’ve seen snowy egrets before but I’ve never seen one fishing in the ocean. And it was an amazing interaction because, even though I consider this such a graceful and beautiful bird…it was so awkward fishing in the ocean. It would stare intently at a wave coming in and then flap and flop awkwardly at it and nearly get bowled over, stumbling around. It was entirely delightful to watch and I probably spent half an hour on a log just watching and photographing this one bird. I think he only got one fish that whole time too! Too bad I didn’t get any photos of him falling over…

I consider these two photos to be the best of the series:
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
But here are some more fun ones!
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Looking for fish
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Soooooo graceful
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
I like this resentful look

10 thoughts on “Snowy Egret fishing in the ocean

Leave a Reply

