Bees collecting nesting materials

Amazing how two weeks in Costa Rica can provide me with months of material to write about! So much happens in such a short time there. Anyway, in my personal quest to learn more about the bees of Costa Rica during my short stay, I discovered many bees that were gathering nesting material, even when I couldn’t find them on flowers. I’m not sure about the identity of these bees…they seem to be Apids to me, but beyond that I’m lost. If you do recognize them, please comment below!

Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Found this bee up in a cloud forest. I think I found the nest, but it was just as we were leaving and I didn’t have a chance to thoroughly investigate it. Nonetheless, a cool bee!
Bees collecting mud
You can see how she carries mud on her hinglegs

Bees collecting mud
In the lowland forest, I came across these bees in many different locations on the trail, collecting mud. I have no idea where they were nesting though; I never did find them anywhere else.
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
There were lots of them! I wonder who they are…
Bees collecting mud
You can see how they store the mud on their hindlegs, where pollen is stored on bumblebees and honeybees. This is why I suspect that they are Apids.
Bees collecting mud
This is an interesting photo because I didn’t notice the quill until I was looking at it on my computer much later. Signs of a tropical porcupine? I didn’t see one, but if so that’s exciting.
Bees collecting mud
Close up!
Bees collecting mud
Handsome bee
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud
Bees collecting mud

3 thoughts on “Bees collecting nesting materials

  1. Pingback: There’s a snake in my boot | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

