Some Costa Rican Snakes

Why have I not yet posted about the gorgeous snakes I saw in Costa Rica? Oh right, because there were so many other amazing things to also write about. It was a surprisingly bad year for snakes…I only saw four during the entire trip. But they were beautiful anyway. I ❤ snakes!

Snakes
Blunt-headed Tree Snake (Imantodes cenchoa)
Snakes
Snakes
Snakes

Snakes
I can't help but be super proud of this snake because I was the one to find it! We were out on a night hike and I spotted it in a tree…lucky find!
Lichen-colored snaileater (Sibon longifrenis)
Lichen-colored snaileater (Sibon longifrenis)
Snakes
Snakes
Beautiful scale patterns
Snakes
Snakes
Snakes
😛

Snakes
Barred Forest Racer (Dendrophidion vinitor)
Barred Forest Racer (Dendrophidion vinitor)
Barred Forest Racer (Dendrophidion vinitor)
Snakes
Some notes on this photo because I got some complaints when I posted it on facebook…the snake is not being harmed. It is not happy, but this was the first photo I took and, as you can see in the above photos, the snake happily slithered off without any trouble. My friend Jose does sometimes manhandle animals (I tend to be more gentle), but he doesn't harm them. And it's kinda a cool expression! Also, this snake bit me, so it had its revenge.

4 thoughts on “Some Costa Rican Snakes

Leave a Reply

