Some Costa Rican Lepidoptera (moths and butterflies)

I spent a lot of time chasing butterflies when I was in Costa Rica…I often let them decide the direction I would hike.  But many of them were challenging to photograph well.  I found the Heliconius butterflies to be especially elusive (despite their abundance)!  They flitted around the forest unpredictably, and rarely landed in one spot for long.  I did capture a couple of photos of them…

Lepidoptera
Heliconius
Lepidoptera
A great diversity in this very successful genus!
Lepidoptera
I had a hard time getting a photo of this clearwing
Lepidoptera
Beautiful Papillionid
Lepidoptera
I found this caligo sleeping upside down in the middle of the night

Lepidoptera
I’ve never seen such a well defended chrysalis
Lepidoptera
Never mess with hairy caterpillars (is a good life rule in general)
Lepidoptera
Especially this one

Lepidoptera
Moths!
Lepidoptera
Lepidoptera
All sorts of cool things come in when you set up a sheet and a black light!
Lepidoptera
Lepidoptera
Lepidoptera
Lepidoptera

8 thoughts on “Some Costa Rican Lepidoptera (moths and butterflies)

Leave a Reply

