Velvet Ants

I love velvet ants, or cow killers as they are called for their supposedly incredibly painful sting. I’ve never been stung by one of these wingless wasp warriors…even though I’ve been tempted to try it. All I can tell you is that they are adorable and they make a high pitched squeak like a mouse. And I love them (I took some photos of our pet velvet ants here).

These are a couple of velvet ants I saw in Costa Rica. I will call them “the orange one” and “the black one”.

The orange one
Velvet ants
Velvet ants
Velvet ants
Velvet ants
Fast little buggers!
Velvet ants
Velvet ants

The black one
Velvet ants
Velvet ants
Velvet ants
I think they’re adorable!

Also, since I’m on this topic, I can’t believe I didn’t post these photos of the male velvet ant I caught in Arizona last year! Male velvet ants are completely harmless of course, because only the females have stingers (stingers are modified ovipositors in Hymenoptera).

Male velvet ant
Male velvet ant

4 thoughts on “Velvet Ants

  1. aww they are haha funny you’d never know, they look cute like lady bugs, I could see myself picking one up and getting stung haha. I like the Az one, he seems to be saying “well, that happened…”

  2. Wow, I really didn’t know much about velvet ants. I just loved how they looked. I had no idea they make a cute sound or that they have such a painful sting! They are gorgeous to look at. Great shots.

Leave a Reply

