Spring is springing

This past week was unseasonably warm…which maybe should have been alarming, but it was hard not to enjoy the sunny, bright days. I wanted to see which spring ephemerals were blooming early, and which are still waiting for the days to get longer. The answer was that a lot of ornamental species started blooming as soon as it started to get warm, but that a lot of the native spring ephemerals are waiting.

Come see some of the things I discovered on my explorations last week!

Winter Aconite (Eranthis hyemalis)
IMG_2092
IMG_2091
IMG_2121
IMG_2122
IMG_2123

Snowdrops (Galanthus sp)
IMG_2130
IMG_2129
IMG_2195
IMG_2196

Crocuses (Winter Aconite, Snowdrops, and Crocuses are my ornamental ephemeral trinity)
IMG_2162
IMG_2161

Don’t get me started on how cool witchhazels* are
IMG_2093
IMG_2143
Ornamental witchhazel
IMG_2154
Last year’s fruit
IMG_2145
They were being pollinated by these beautiful** sarcophagid flies
IMG_2150
I’m trying to like these guys

Ornamental paper birches
IMG_2158

The ornamental Cornelian Cherry*** (Cornus mas)
IMG_2141
IMG_2140
Also fly pollinated

And other non natives are leafing out!
IMG_2156

Hepatica was pretty much the only native flowering
IMG_2225
IMG_2222

This crazy honeysuckle…what are you doing honeysuckle?!?!
IMG_2211

The first of the ornamental cherries on campus
IMG_2207

This willow may not look like its about to flower, but that’s cause the female flowers are boring
IMG_2204

Some fun fungi
IMG_2218
IMG_2191
Is this photo terrible? I kinda love it
IMG_2188
These are kinda like flowers 😉

And a mayfly in March!
IMG_2226

Bonus! When I’m walking past hollow logs I always like to flash my camera in there and see if there’s anything hiding inside and 99.9% of the time nothing is…but this time there was a fat chipmunk!
IMG_2155

*Every time I say this, my friend says, “Which hazel?” and I fall for it Every. Single. Time.
**Really really ugly, sorry I tried
***Beats me as to why a dogwood is called a cherry

8 thoughts on “Spring is springing

  1. Lovely spring photos. That red fungi grows just below us in a little wooded areas it’s called “Elf cup” here in Ireland which seems so appropriate:)

  2. Pingback: On the phenology of invaders | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

