Cellophane bees

I’ve written about these bees before…they are known as “the heart-faced bees” and this species, Colletes inaequalis, is one of the earliest spring bees.  The last university I worked at had several large nesting aggregations on campus, but I have had no luck finding them on this campus, so I was starting to lose hope that I would even see them this year.  Until…I found a huge nesting aggregation at the five mile marker on my ten mile hike last weekend!

I love these bees…
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
😛
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
I think this is my favourite pic of the day 🙂
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Ground nesting bees
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis
Mating photos!
Colletes inaequalis
Colletes inaequalis

14 thoughts on “Cellophane bees

    • I use a 100mm Tokina…it’s a really good lens for macro photos, but I didn’t have any diopters or anything else to increase the magnification. That’s the next step for REALLY small things, like mites or Collembolans.

  1. They are very beautiful and interesting creatures. I can see why you like them so much. You so take such excellent shots. Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

