Assault, by Edna St. Vincent Millay

I immediately liked this simple poem on the first read (which doesn’t always happen).  I do like Edna St. Vincent Millay.

Assault

I

I had forgotten how the frogs must sound

After a year of silence, else I think

I should not so have ventured forth alone

At dusk upon this unfrequented road.

II

I am waylaid by Beauty. Who will walk

Between me and the crying of the frogs?

Oh, savage Beauty, suffer me to pass,

That am a timid woman, on her way

From one house to another!

– Edna St. Vincent Millay

2 thoughts on “Assault, by Edna St. Vincent Millay

Leave a Reply

