A tour of the monuments in Washington D.C.

Not my typical hiking post, but I had a fun day touring the capital with my parents.

We had originally planned this tour to take place at peak cherry bloom, but that didn’t happen because the cherries bloomed early this year and, well, I always say you can’t make a date with nature. The day before this there was a huge snowstorm (during which me and several family members and a friend were out four hours doing a half marathon/marathon). A few of the sheltered trees were still blooming though.

It was a cold morning that turned into a lovely day. Warning: several photos of my adorable parents included in this post.

Washington DC
Bright and early and cold
Washington DC
Jefferson memorial
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
Tourists everywhere 😛
Washington DC
Pretty tree
Washington DC
I like the structure of the elms
Washington DC
The cherries may be mostly done but the oaks are just starting
Washington DC
Washington DC
Silly ornamental cherries
Washington DC
The Washington monument has taught me that I can’t take a straight photo to save my life
Washington DC
Washington DC
I was mostly excited about the roof of the Jefferson memorial
Washington DC
Washington DC
Silly tourists are always in the way
Washington DC
I love that this tree is still alive
Washington DC
Jefferson memorial from the other side
Washington DC
Cherries in…leaf
Washington DC
Cherries in bloom!
Washington DC
Washington DC
FDR memorial
Washington DC
Several trees blooming in the shelter of the FDR memorial
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
Dogwood blossoms are pretty, but deceptive. Those are sepals, not petals!
Washington DC
Redbud!
Washington DC
A good quote for me from FDR
Washington DC
Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial (and Washington monument, you can see that everywhere)
Washington DC
Me mum
Washington DC
Washington DC
Everyone gets so excited about tulips and I’m trying to care
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
I ❤ elm trees
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
Korean war memorial
Washington DC
Washington DC
I like this because these guys are in a war surrounded by tourists
Washington DC
Washington DC
Lincoln memorial
Washington DC
Washington DC
Washington DC
Vietnam memorial
Washington DC
Ah, these guys are cute!
Washington DC
WWII memorial

4 thoughts on “A tour of the monuments in Washington D.C.

  1. You’re right. The elms had a beautiful structure. I never saw elms that beautiful in west Texas (where they could never get enough water). And I understand your sentiment about the tulips….

Leave a Reply

