Photos from the Lower Trail

A couple of my friends and I biked the length of the Lower Trail and then back again last weekend. This is a rail trail that claims to be 17 miles long, but I mapped it out at just under, so the full trip ended up being around 33 miles. The trail is super flat and easy, very friendly to anyone! My favourite part was the beginning of the trail, near Alfarata, where it feels like the forest stretches forever on both sides. That illusion quickly disappears when you get closer to Williamsburg, and you even pass a gas station at one point!

I got a little ahead of my friends and stopped to take some photos of spring ephemerals and bees (of course).

Okay, this is not a spring ephemeral but the box elder is flowering
Lower Trail

The Solomon’s Seal is not quite blooming yet, but it’s always a pretty plant
Lower Trail

Trillium erectum
Lower Trail
Lower Trail
Lower Trail

Bee! (Ceratina?)
Lower Trail

Trail
Lower Trail

Bloodroot Sanguinaria canadensis
Lower Trail
Lower Trail

Sweet William Phlox maculata
Lower Trail
Lower Trail

Dutchman’s britches! Dicentra cucullaria
Lower Trail
Lower Trail
Hmmm, who has been stealing nectar from this flower!

A new flower for me! Yellow fumewort Corydalis flavula (I guess it’s pretty uncommon, exciting!)
Lower Trail
Lower Trail

Mystery bee on yellow fumewort
Lower Trail
Um, excuse me bee you are on the wrong side of the flower
Lower Trail
No, I still can’t…
Lower Trail
Okay, that’s a little better

2 thoughts on “Photos from the Lower Trail

Leave a Reply

