231 miles in two days: Central PA to Central NY by bicycle

I did it! I’ve been training and planning this bike trip for a loooooong time, so I’m super pleased to announce that I successfully rode my bicycle 231 miles in just two days, from central PA to central NY. The destination was carefully selected as…that’s the friend who was willing to give me a ride home! Also, this:

Raider
MY PUPPY LOVE!

I rode 122 miles on the first day, spending some time on the Pine Creek Rail trail to cut through the Grand Canyon of PA, and then camped near the border overnight at a lovely little campground called Ive’s Run. Here are some photos! (I could only carry my kit lens, 25-50 mm, because of weight, so I don’t have any great shots!)

biking across PA
Off highway 414
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
Pine Creek
biking across PA
biking across PA
Just me and Ghost! (Those bags are heavier than I thought they would be haha)
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
Rattlesnake going under a rock!
biking across PA
Hiding
biking across PA
Pine Creek Rail Trail
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
I startled a thread-waisted wasp into dropping her snack, so I tried to wait and get a photo of her picking it up again
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
I was actually trying to photograph the bird in this sumac, but with a short lens it was pretty impossible haha
biking across PA
Mama and baby deer
biking across PA
The mama wasn’t too worried about me
biking across PA
But the baby got spooked by Ghost!
biking across PA
Mama chillin and eating some grass
biking across PA
Baby levitating
biking across PA
And disappearing
biking across PA
biking across PA
I took this with a 25-50! That’s how close she let me get!
biking across PA
Racoon looking for crayfish (I suspect)
biking across PA
Can you spot the racoon in this photo? haha
biking across PA
biking across PA
Grand Canyon of PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
Osprey over an abandoned highway
biking across PA
Surprisingly not bad for such a short lens
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
Osprey in the distance
biking across PA
biking across PA
biking across PA
I was trying to follow an abandoned highway to the campground but it ended up being a mistake because it dead ended…I crashed my way up a steep hill through the weeds to these train tracks…
biking across PA
Where there was another osprey nest
biking across PA
And I accidentally found myself 25 ft above the road I needed to be on (oops)
biking across PA
But I made it! And I was rewarded with a beautiful sunset and a jump in the lake

This is a lot of photos, so I’ll have to continue this post tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “231 miles in two days: Central PA to Central NY by bicycle

  1. wow! Amazing feat! Pun intended… Gorgeous shots, cant believe you saw a rattlesnake, its so dark colored too, I love the abandonded highway, cant wait to see more!

  2. Pingback: 2016 stats – 4,540 miles | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

