The Tree, by Ezra Pound

I like this poem better every time I read it, and I like to imagine it being read in a deep, ponderous voice.  See if you have a different impression of it…

The Tree 

I stood still and was a tree amid the wood,

Knowing the truth of things unseen before;

Of Daphne and the laurel bow

And that god-feasting couple old

that grew elm-oak amid the wold.

‘Twas not until the gods had been

Kindly entreated, and been brought within

Unto the hearth of their heart’s home

That they might do this wonder thing;

Nathless I have been a tree amid the wood

And many a new thing understood

That was rank folly to my head before.

– Ezra Pound

12 thoughts on “The Tree, by Ezra Pound

Leave a Reply

