Take a hike! (with me?) The Golden Eagle trail 2016

I’ve mentioned the Golden Eagle trail before, but gosh I love it.  It has to be one of the prettiest day hikes in PA, and at over nine miles and two major climbs it’s a pretty challenging one too.  Feeling the onset of existential dread, I took myself for a rigorous hike in a beautiful place to beat it back for a few days.  I went alone, but you can come with me now…

Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Portrait of a hiker, solo, with a camera on a timer
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Perhaps a white hickory tussock moth caterpillar? It’s not on hickory, which is confusing
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Look at this giant mushroom! That’s my lens cap in there for scale
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Somehow these pictures get all out of order on Flickr…but you get the idea
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
The forest on fire!
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Our little American toady friends
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
My favourite part of the hike is in this sheltered valley
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
I sat on a log to get this photo and inadvertently sat on a rotting mushroom, which then left a sticky brown smear all over the seat of my pants. Sigh. Fortunately, I was alone in the middle of nowhere, so I could turn in circles like a dog chasing its tail for a few minutes trying to clean it all off with a leaf.

And so I don’t leave you with that image, here are some panoramic overviews:
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
From Raven’s Horn
Golden Eagle Trail, PA
From the first, unnamed overlook

8 thoughts on “Take a hike! (with me?) The Golden Eagle trail 2016

  1. Ah, the old “onset of existential dread”…I know it well! I often try to prevent it by heading off on a long walk. This looks like a beautiful hike. I only wish I could have shared it with you. Beautiful pics. I hope you are feeling ok. x

  2. Beautiful hike! Loved the trees, fungus, and toad! When my family is in the. Midst of “existential dread” we also head outside. Best treatment ever.

Leave a Reply

