Some Luxembourgish Insects

Insects I saw in Luxembourg!

Luxembourg insects
Honeybee visiting Himalayan Balsam…the honeybees looked very different, but I don’t know why
Luxembourg insects
Butterfly
Luxembourg insects
Some sort of sharpshooter
Luxembourg insects
Bumblebee visiting Himalayan Balsam (it’s a very attractive invader)
Luxembourg insects
Luxembourg insects
See how different the honeybees are?
Luxembourg insects
I love this stripey bumblebee! Anyone know it?
Luxembourg insects
Luxembourg insects
This looks a lot like a tarnished plant bug
Luxembourg insects
Luxembourg insects
Pretty butterfly
Luxembourg insects
Another bumble
Luxembourg insects
Oooooo
Luxembourg insects
Luxembourg insects

Help me with IDs if you can!

8 thoughts on “Some Luxembourgish Insects

  1. Great photographs. Are you sure that is only one bee in the stripey bumblebee photo, I thought I could see another eye underneath? There are many varieties of honeybees and the Italian, Buckfast. Carolinian and lots of others look different from the black bees. Amelia

    • Whoa I see what you mean….I’m pretty sure there’s only one large bee there, but maybe there’s a little one? I was following the stripey bee around, so I could see it move as a single organism. We get black and gold honeybees in the US but they are more fragile and they don’t have that line along the thorax.

      • I can only think that it has been visiting something with a very heavy sticky pollen that has covered the mid thorax hairs repeatedly, as it visited the flowers, leaving the pollen stripe and revealing the black body of the thorax. Sometimes I see bees so completely covered in pollen they look a different colour.

  2. Mainland Europe has more bees and butterflies than we do here in Ireland but the butterflies looked likes red admiral and green veined white. The last few bumbles look like some of our carder bumbles but not sure beyond that

  3. The honey bees don’t look that different to me but that may be because I’m used to seeing European sub species of honey bees. Himalayan basalm leaves that pale pollen stripe on the thorax that makes some new beekeepers think their bees are going mouldy!

Leave a Reply

