Catedral de Sevilla

I realize that I never posted the answer to my third where in the world quiz…and so many of you were dying to know, I’m sure!  Well, it was Sevilla!

Here are some photos I took of one of the main tourist attractions in Sevilla, la Catedral de Sevilla.  According to Wikipedia, “It is the largest Gothic cathedral and the third-largest church in the world. It is also the largest cathedral in the world, as the two larger churches, the Basilica of the National Shrine of Our Lady of Aparecida and St. Peter’s Basilica, are not the seats of bishops.”  It was consecrated in 1507 and is the burial place of Cristobal Colon (Christopher Columbus).

To be perfectly honest, I liked la Sagrada Familia better (more on that later), but this was also a beautiful church/museum. I can see why visiting cathedrals is a primary objective of some European travelers.

Catedral de Sevilla
I spent some time photographing the exterior of the cathedral, which is massive
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Renovations
Catedral de Sevilla
Cathedral selfie! (There was this mirror on the ground to direct your attention at the ornate ceiling)
Catedral de Sevilla
The giant pallbearers of Cristobal Colon! Small human on the right for scale
Catedral de Sevilla
There’s the old chap…I morbidly wonder how much is left of him in there
Catedral de Sevilla
And then I get distracted by something shiny
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Ooo shiny
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
That woman’s fluffy hair fits perfectly in my photo
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
There’s an alligator hanging in the court yard…I have no idea why, but I remember there is also one hanging in the hallway of the University of Queensland where I worked for a time…is this a thing??
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
I climbed the very claustrophobic tower (packed to the teeth full of people) to take photos of Sevilla from above
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
There’s the bullfighting ring…they still do that here
Catedral de Sevilla
Cathedral courtyard
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Sevilla…
Catedral de Sevilla
Is a lot bigger than I thought
Catedral de Sevilla
I ended up walking all across it while I was visiting…one day I walked 14 miles!
Catedral de Sevilla
You can see the dry landscape beyond the city…also the building I affectionately nicknamed the lipstick
Catedral de Sevilla
The old district (central city) is an incredibly confusing labyrinth of dead ends and alleys
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
My favourite of the paintings
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Ornate pipe organs
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Very ornate dead saint
Catedral de Sevilla
Museum articles, like paintings and other pieces of art, are also displayed here
Catedral de Sevilla
And gold inlaid clothing
Catedral de Sevilla
A very old book (1390)
Catedral de Sevilla
Ooooo shiny!
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
Catedral de Sevilla
You can always get weird perspectives here at SOIMF*

Thanks for coming with me on my cathedral tour!

*StandingOutInMyField

Leave a Reply

