Holidays through a child’s eyes

I shared (nervously) my camera with my seven year old cousin and my ten year old niece this holiday and it was actually a great opportunity to spend time with them and also to see my family through their eyes.  I wanted to share some of these photos with you (even though they are technically not mine? ownership is confusing in this) and then I just happened to come across this article in NPR where they allowed child brides to take photos of each other and share their stories.  Obviously, my niece and cousin have not had the traumatic lives these child brides have had, but I was amazed at how similar the concept of sharing a camera was.

Even though it can be a little nerve-wracking to share something like a camera with someone else, it is really a great way to see the world through their eyes…give it a try some time!

IMG_8188
This is my niece! We had a great time doing a photoshoot. I’ll share some of her photos first
IMG_8176
IMG_8270
IMG_8266
She liked taking photos of the tree markers.
IMG_8284
Great story about this one…she was taking photos of the sign, but I thought she was taking photos of the deer right behind it! I said, “Wow! That’s a great shot of the deer!” and she said, “What deer?” Haha, we all see different things.
IMG_8301
IMG_8343
She found a sharp-shinned hawk
IMG_7870
This is my cousin!
IMG_7873
He took a great photo of his mom
IMG_7932
And I love this photo he took of everyone sitting around the dinner table
IMG_7995
Ceiling fan
IMG_8004
See, I would never think to photograph the dish sponges!
IMG_8027
My sister is much more likely to smile at him than me haha

4 thoughts on “Holidays through a child’s eyes

  1. I love that she took the photo of the deer almost by accident . . and that sign was so worth photographing. Your cousin looks at the world like an artist, nothing is too ordinary to escape his notice! I love the sponges, though mine look a lot rattier, those made a great picture! There is something to be said about pointing out in photos the ordinary beauties of the real world! Glad you liked how your experiment turned out!

Leave a Reply

