Some more Tsavo-an birds

I’ve been posting specific subsets of the birds I saw on my trip to Kenya (because I didn’t want to overwhelm you), but here’s a random collection! (Please feel free to correct any of my identifications if I make a mistake! I’m all about the learning)

Namaqua Dove
Kenyan birds
White-browed sparrow weaver
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
Spur-winged lapwing
Kenyan birds
Superb Starling
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
(shiny)
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
This is a juvenile swallow, but I’m not confident about the species
Kenyan birds
Omg I loved these guys, D’Arnaud’s barbets
Kenyan birds
Common bulbul
Kenyan birds
Barred warbler
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
White-bellied-go-away bird
Kenyan birds
Grey-headed sparrow
Kenyan birds
Black Kite
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
Spotted morning thrush (these guys had a cute little dance but I never did get a photo of it)
Kenyan birds
Kenyan birds
Blue spotted wood dove
Kenyan birds
Red backed shrike
Kenyan birds
Spotted flycatcher
Kenyan birds
Falcon? Harrier? The Kenyan raptors are too hard, guys!
Kenyan birds
Yellow necked francolin
Kenyan birds
Kori Bustard 😀
Kenyan birds
The immaculately camouflaged black-bellied bustard
Kenyan birds
African wagtails
Kenyan birds
Marabou stork
Kenyan birds

5 thoughts on “Some more Tsavo-an birds

  1. Well it’s quite a gallery. I feel that the ‘go-away’ bird may be mis-id’d…!

    OoooooooooooMG! I’ve just looked it up under ‘Kenya bird thorns’. It really exists. It really is called that. And I thought this was one of your SOIMF jests. Double bluff. Good one! RH

  2. Pingback: Ostriches are actually pretty weird-looking up close | standingoutinmyfield

Leave a Reply

