My first wild elephants

I have to specify “wild” because I worked at a zoo for a while, so I was very familiar with elephants (and especially their poop, that was my job). I’m just going to share a bunch of photos today.  You better believe I took hundreds, so I’ve worked hard to narrow these down to some of the best.

IMG_9410
This was actually my first view of elephants…way off in the distance!
IMG_9423
This is the Voi Wildlife Lodge…we went here once a week to use the internet and watch the wildlife coming into the giant watering hole. This is where I got a lot of my elephant photos (and all of the ones I’m sharing today)
IMG_9558
There are some elephants on the horizon…hope they come in!
IMG_9594
They came! (We were in the middle of a drought, so the watering hole was pretty irresistible to a lot of animals.)
IMG_9605
IMG_9616
I like the way they look when they drink, so I took a lot of these photos, full disclosure
IMG_9628
Sometimes they rest their trunk on their tusks and it is very cute!
IMG_9638
I like the crane between their legs
IMG_9660
IMG_9678
To give you an idea of the landscape (Tsavo National Park)
IMG_9726
IMG_9741
IMG_9739
IMG_9749
Headin back to the bush
IMG_9753
IMG_9751
One of my favourite elephant photos
IMG_9768
Tsavo is known for its “red” elephants because the mud is red and they love to rub it all over themselves
IMG_9794
IMG_9804
A solitary elephant eyeing a family group coming in
IMG_9940
Time to pllaaaaaaay
IMG_9932
Up periscope
IMG_9949
This would be me if I were an elephant
IMG_9958
I just like this one because he looks like Cthulu
IMG_9947
Rawr!
Elephants

Ok now for R rated photos (you’ve been warned)
IMG_9695
Elephant pooping!
IMG_9728
And peeing…I know, it’s pretty alarming to me too

6 thoughts on “My first wild elephants

  1. Magnificent! Especially the peeing 😀 I’ve seen wild elephants in Borneo, but they were much smaller and possibly more shy than yours. We tended to see the backs of them as they disappeared into the forest.

  2. Terrific photos – even the bodily function ones. I’m familiar with researching whale poop (it’s collected in a very fine-mesh scoop net)… but I wonder what elephant poop reveals. Diet? Or was it just for fun?

    • Well, I took the photo to make fun of a particular friend of mine (hey, I took a photo of an elephant pooping for you!) just because he has that kind of humor. But many people do look at elephant poop for DNA (to identify the pooping individual for tracking purposes) and for diet composition.

Leave a Reply

