Some Irish bird drawings

You guys, I don’t know what happened. I went on a total drawing binge this past weekend, even though I don’t really have the time to be wasting on drawing silly little birds. Welp, that happened. Here’s the result (NB: I realized too late that I scanned these at very low resolution, oh well):

barn owl

Barn Owl (Tyto alba).  I should mention that these are all Irish birds, but they are also all European birds. Because Ireland is an island, it has a subset of the continents birds, and generally a low biodiversity. Still, it has some really lovely birds!

european goldfinch

European Goldfinch (Carduelis carduelis). In a spate of American pride, I will say that our goldfinches are cuter…however…

european robin

The European Robin (Erithacus rubecula) is way cuter than our robin (thrush).

stumpy toddy

And my favourite, the stumpy toddy! Also known as the Eurasian Wren (Troglodytes troglodytes).  I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of this guy before long.

10 thoughts on “Some Irish bird drawings

  1. I agree about the European Robin. We saw one in Barcelona and it was completely adorable. Why couldn’t they have released those here instead of House Sparrows! (kidding!)

Leave a Reply

