Ostriches are actually pretty weird-looking up close

I’ve seen ostriches in zoos before, but I don’t think I ever took a really close look at them until I was in Kenya. Up close, they are actually pretty odd. You’ll notice that I didn’t include them in my birds of Kenya posts…because they don’t really feel like birds to me (though they definitely are!).

Ostriches
From a distance, majestic, beautiful animals
Ostriches
Ostriches
Look at those weird earholes!
Ostriches
Look at this foot! They really are living dinosaurs
Ostriches
Whaaaat are you doing? Also, doesn’t that just look like a turkey leg under there? Haha
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
They leave their bills open like this because it is hot!
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
Ostriches
I only got one photo of a male (and it’s not a very good one), but I wanted to share it because that iconic image of an ostrich you probably have in your head is the black male ostrich

2 thoughts on “Ostriches are actually pretty weird-looking up close

Leave a Reply

