Radiator Stop Leak

When I lived in upstate New York, my favourite thing to do on the weekends was to cycle the 35 mi to my friend’s farm and throw hay bales all day. His hay business completely relies on ancient (and faulty) equipment. His youngest tractor was made in 1963 (that’s 54 years old), and the oldest is a 1936 John Deere B* with no electrical components (you have to start it with a fly wheel). Naturally, all of these tractors are constantly breaking down in the middle of the field. When a tractor breaks down, he throws his hat on the ground, shouts a few curse words, stalks around the tractor, pulls out a pocket crescent wrench, and starts the thing right up again. It’s very impressive to watch.

DSC_0906 (2)
The B…we like to joke that we both like bees

One day, as I was riding out, he called to tell me one of the tractors** had sprung a leak in the radiator, and asked if I could pick up some radiator stop leak on the way. Because he lives way out in the country, there was only one gas station on the way, and it was a tiny little country store that sold a small selection of groceries in addition to the standard gas station fare.

IMG_9842
Stinky old beast…cousin to the D-14 (Fort) this is the D-45 (unnamed). I can’t tell the darn things apart though.

fort

This is a stolen photo of the D-14

After cycling about thirty miles, I reached this store.Β  Seeing there was nowhere to lock up my bike outside (why don’t gas stations have places to lock up bikes???), I took it in with me. The moment I walked in the door, everyone’s eyes turned to me.

DSC_0926 (2)
We named the youngest tractor (i.e. 54 yo) Sexy because it has a new paint job. It’s a D-19. And yes, that’s my farmer friend making monkey faces at me.

I was sweaty, red-faced, and dirty from the road in my cycling equipment. I was also still wearing a helmet. All that, plus the obvious clue of my bicycle, surely tipped them off to the fact that I had not driven a car there. Yet the first words out of my mouth, directed at the woman behind the counter, were, “Do you have any radiator stop leak?”

She stared at me, open-mouthed, for a moment before saying no. I shrugged and left the way I came in, clipless shoes click-clacking on the cement.

DSC_0930 (2)
We have to pick all these bales up off the ground and stack them on a hay wagon. This is why I love this work…mindless, good hard work.

*Currently on loan to a museum…that’s how old it is, haha
**Probably the tractor we call Fort (well he calls it Fort, I call it Fart)…it’s an 1957 Allis Chalmers D-14 that causes endless amounts of trouble and spills out poisonous black smoke that makes you cough. He’ll never get rid of the darn thing, though, because it belonged to his father.

14 thoughts on “Radiator Stop Leak

  1. Such fun! We are the proud owners of a 1947 John Deere Model M orchard tractor with an 8′ drag-behind mower and a front plow. My spouse has just spent the past weekend tearing it apart, replacing things, painting, and cursing. He is happy as the proverbial clam!

Leave a Reply

