Foxes in my backyard

Foxes

Stop the presses! There are no fewer than three foxes napping in my backyard* right now.

Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Turning around three times

Every once in a while, one will get up and yawn and stretch and they do a lot of itching, then they turn around and go back to napping. Ah, the life of a clever fox who has found a walled and locked yard.

Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes

There are a lot of foxes in Dublin. I have seen seven in my two months here. That’s fine by me…I adore foxes.

Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
They noticed me crawling out on the roof to photograph them from afar
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
Foxes
https://flic.kr/p/UN7dzv

This is the same species as the foxes living in the meadow behind my parents’ house in Maryland (USA). And, in fact, the red fox is the world’s most widespread mammalian carnivore (aside from humans).

DSC_0947
The foxes in the meadow behind my parents’ house
https://flic.kr/p/UN7JgK

*Ok not really my backyard, but the yard beyond my backyard, which is the excess parking area for a sports centre. It is surrounded on all sides by high walls and gated at all times when not in use. So I have a strong desire to wander around in there but have no access.

6 thoughts on “Foxes in my backyard

  1. So cute!!

    There’s a fox that hangs out in the Tesco grocery store parking lot in Glasgow, Scotland–saw it there when I visited my daughter. I love them!! I didn’t know that they are the world’s most widespread mammalian carnivore.

Leave a Reply

