Some Kenyan lizards

I’ll have a separate gecko post (of course), and I’ve already written about the chameleons (1, 2), but here are some of the lizards I regularly saw around the research camp in Kenya.

I think this is a Somali Painted Agama, but I’m not sure:
Somali painted agama?

Our most common lizard was the Red-headed Rock Agama. This is the female:
Red headed Rock Agama
Red headed Rock Agama

And the extremely noticeable male:
Red headed Rock Agama
Red headed Rock Agama
Red headed Rock Agama

We found this skink at the research center…I’m not sure what species it was but it sure was smug:
Skink
That’s my friend Gloria, grinning behind the camera.
Skink
Skink, you skank
Skink
Skink
Spying on us in the kitchen
Skink

4 thoughts on “Some Kenyan lizards

Leave a Reply

