House geckos in Kenya

IMG_9386
Look at these amazing feet. This is how geckos can run along ceilings

Mandatory TED talk

IMG_9372
IMG_9379
Close up on the beautiful eye

I’ve seen house geckos on four continents now (Australia, South America, North America, Africa). However, Kenya (and sub-Saharan Africa in general) is their native range! We were all quite fond of the geckos at the research camp because they ate all sorts of pest insects. Plus, it’s always fun to hear their little feet ticka-tacking around your tent. When I was tidying up my tent on the day I was leaving camp, I picked up my pillow to see if I’d left anything behind, and a gecko stared back up at me.

IMG_9396
Talk about smug lizards, geez
IMG_9388
He’s a little chubby, plenty of good meals at the camp toilets

Because we had drop toilets in the research camp, the geckos’ favourite place was the bathroom. A fly buffet every day! When I worked at the zoo, we introduced tiger geckos to control the cockroach problem…then we had a gecko problem. But no one really minds having geckos scatter when you turn on the lights.

IMG_9393
IMG_9397
The view from inside my tent, including resident geckos
IMG_9400
Keeping the tent safe from cockroaches
Tropical house gecko
Another researcher found and hatched some gecko eggs. Human finger for scale!
Tropical house gecko
Freshly hatched gecko babies!

Leave a Reply

