Chaffinch mating dance

I got to see this cute chaffinch couple doing their courtship ritual, with the male doing a little dance. I was pretty impressed! But the female…not so much. These are great birds that I didn’t even know existed before I came to Ireland!

Chaffinch
First, the female checked out the log
Chaffinch
Chaffinch butt
Chaffinch
I know this is blurry but I’m sharing it because I think it’s hilarious
Chaffinch
Hmmm…looks like a pretty good log
Chaffinch
I approve!
Chaffinch
Time for my dance!
Chaffinch
Boogie boogie yeah
Chaffinch
Cha cha cha
Chaffinch
Cha cha cha
Chaffinch
Are you impressed yet?
Chaffinch
Hey, where are you going! I’m not done!
Chaffinch
Dang!

4 thoughts on “Chaffinch mating dance

  1. Ha! Like your story about your friend Esther who kept turning down proposals. This Fellow’s let down ( I think he’s pretty cute, but what do I know–I’m a primate).

  2. Gosh, I don’t think I have ever seen a chaffinch mating dance and I live here in Ireland! Well spotted!

Leave a Reply

