Some Irish Birds

I keep delaying this post because I’m still accumulating new species, but here are some of the bird** species I’ve seen (and managed to get photographs of) since I moved to Ireland.

Coot:
Coot
Coot

Wood Pigeon:
Woodpigeon
Woodpigeon

Treecreeper:
Eurasian Treecreeper

Robin:
European Robin

Pigeon:
Common Pigeon

Swan:
Swan

Firecrest:
Firecrest
Firecrest
(Cute little guys, same genus as our American kinglets)

Magpie:
Magpie
Okay, so the magpies are total jerks who like to pull up my experimental plants for no apparent reason and leave them with their roots in the air BUT I can’t help but love them for their funny like head-boppin walk.

Yous* know I love me some robins:
European Robin
European Robin
Attractive and curious birds
European Robin
European Robin
Sing, baby!
European Robin
European Robin

Hooded crow:
Hooded Crow
Hooded Crow
So majestic

Crappy photo of a European Goldfinch:
Goldfinch

Chaffinches are lovely:
Chaffinch
Chaffinch
I don’t know why he has a leaf but I’m delighted that I caught it in a photo

Starlings (yawn):
Starlings

I so want a great photo of a stumpy toddy, but I only have these for now:
Stumpy Toddy
Stumpy Toddy

Stonechat:
Stonechat
Heeeeeyyy
Stonechat

Cormorants:
Cormorants

Terrible photo of a pied oystercatcher:

*Who knew that Irish people say “yous”? But they do!
**In the first published version of this post I accidentally said “bee” photos haha

10 thoughts on “Some Irish Birds

  1. Some great photos. If you like your corvids then you may like to read “Corvus: A Life with Birds” by Esther Woolfson

  2. Awww don’t be down on the starlings. They aren’t nearly as common as they used to be but when seen in large flocks at places like Aberystwyth pier they’re spectacular. And not as plain as they first appear, lots of shimmering colours in those wings.

  3. I’m surprised at how different the robins look than what we have in the US, although the pigeons and swans look the same, more or less. As for the other birds, well, I’m not that good at bird identification so I’m too ignorant to tell if they are the same or not. That’s why I know smart people like you. I at least know that SOIMF is on top of it!

Leave a Reply

