La Sagrada Familia, Barcelona

You guys! I woke up in the middle of the night realizing I NEVER posted my photos from la Sagrada Familia from Barcelona last year. Wow, what an oversight! What if I get hit by a car while cycling to all my field sites and you never get to see them?! Well, I’m here to correct my mistake and post photos of the most beautiful building I have ever been in. (Sorry, not sorry, for the pile of photos)

La Sagrada Familia

I’ve been obsessed with Gaudi since college…he was brilliant, way ahead of his time, and he died tragically (apparently the three items that are enough to make me obsessed with a historical icon, read: MARIE CURIE). Gaudi was also an incredibly humble and pious man and I respect his dedication and work ethic. La Sagrada Familia was a project he spent more than 40 years of his life on, never to see it completed. Many of the plans he designed were burned in the Spanish Revolution, but the Spanish government is working hard to complete the cathedral.

La Sagrada Familia

After being obsessed with it for so many years, I was a little worried that I’d be disappointed. Was I? I was not. Go see it, it is the most beautiful building you will ever see.

La Sagrada Familia
A deeply religious man, Gaudi intended for it to be a pilgrimage just to walk through this cathedral

La Sagrada Familia
Under construction for over a hundred years…

La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada was certainly not built in a day!

La Sagrada Familia
Every bit intricate
La Sagrada Familia

La Sagrada Familia
He was a master of colour and light.

La Sagrada Familia
No disrespect, but I can’t help but giggle at the way the donkey is photobombing (statue-bombing??) this lovely family image. He looks kind of goofy relative to the other sculptures.

La Sagrada Familia
A tiny detail that caught my attention…bees foraging on the ornate metal flowers blooming around the main doors to the cathedral.

La Sagrada Familia
A blue wizard, master of light and shadow*

La Sagrada Familia
The pillars are meant to imitate the organic forms of trees. Gaudi thought nature was the ultimate expression of God’s will…a thought process I can get behind!

La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
Geometry yeah!

La Sagrada Familia
Normally, I try to avoid photos with tourists in them, but I kinda love this woman’s expression. Accidental renaissance?

La Sagrada Familia
Minimalism?

La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia

*I’ll be shocked if anyone knows this reference to an obscure podcast, haha

4 thoughts on “La Sagrada Familia, Barcelona

Leave a Reply

