Derbidae

You’re such a derbid. That’s not actually an insult, but it so sounds like it could be, right? I love it. A grad student in the last lab I worked in introduced me to this cool family of insects, the Derbidae, and I think the name is hilarious (because I’m six years old, apparently). That grad student is a fantastic insect photographer, but he never posts anything online, so I can’t share his work with you, unfortunately.*

Derbidae
Derbids are in the order of True Bugs (Hemiptera). This species is probably Anotia bonnetii, which is very common. These are terrible photos, but you get the idea.

Derbidae
Cute, right??

Derbidae
I like the WIPs (Wing Interference Patterns)

*He’s also hilarious. My favourite memory of him was when a mutual friend said, “He’s only friends with you because you help him with his field work!” and I turned to him and said, with faux hurt in my eyes, “Is that true?” and, without missing a beat, he quipped “Who said we were friends??!” I was rolling with laughter.

Leave a Reply

