Rift, by Phish

I have a friend who is a big Phish fan…like maybe the biggest Phish fan. He introduced me to this band, which I enjoy myself, though I am pretty eclectic in my musical tastes and enjoy almost everything (so that’s no feather). Some of the lyrics to Phish songs don’t make any sense*, but when I looked up the lyrics to their song Rift the other day, I couldn’t help but think it’s actually just poetry. What do you think? Any Phish fans in my blog audience?

You can listen to the song while you read too:

NB: Pretty sure this was written by Trey Anastasio…
Β© by Who Is She? Music, Inc (BMI)

Last night, in the moments my thoughts were adrift
And coasting a terrace, approaching a rift
Through which I could spy several glimpses beneath
Of the darkness the light from above could not reach
I spied wings of reason, herself taking flight
And upon yonder precipice saw her alight
And glared back at me one last look of dismay
As if she were the last one she thought I’d betray

So much better I said to myself
And drawing quite close to the top of the shelf
I struggled with destiny upon the ledge
And gasped when defeated he slipped off the edge
And silence contagious in moments like these
Consumed me and strengthened my will to appease
The passion that sparked me one terrible night
And shocked and persuaded my soul to ignite

So much better I said to myself
And drawing quite close to the top of the shelf
I struggled with destiny upon the ledge
And gasped when defeated he slipped off the edge

And silence contagious in moments like these
Consume me and strengthen my will to appease

The passion that sparked me one terrible night
And shocked and persuaded my soul to ignite

 

*”But mouflon warring where I went renewed in me a need to fight”

8 thoughts on “Rift, by Phish

  1. Thank you for sharing this standingout, this song hit me hard in 93 and just now.

    The memory of that album cover, the lyrics, could almost be comparable to a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Syndrome flashback… but in a constructive way…?… There was so much “grunge”, I hate to use that term but its unfortunately become that umbrella word to describe that time and our some kind of culture.

    I was 18 years old, my world was consumed with music, art, theater, poetry, Amnesty International meetings, my family and tribe of friends. Coffee shops, bookstores, libraries, allies, rooftops, band practice basements, garages, houses and far off fields were places you could find us and our exploding creative imaginations. The air around us always seemed clouded with scents of patchouli oil, sweat, clove cigarettes and weed. Music brought us together in a different way than any other, it influenced a beautiful change within ourselves.

    Nirvana was fresh, there was so much music to explore, lyrics to read, over analyze and finally, honestly, truly relate to. It felt at though the entire generation was bubbling with angst. These particular bands sang lyrics that spoke my thoughts, spoke the thoughts of my friends and in a way and form that had never been done before. The music projected what we were feeling and in a form and sound that conveyed our deepest inner thoughts and fears, the shit you couldn’t talk to your parents or elders about, the important shit.

    Phish was close to home for me, they formed 30 miles north of where I grew up. I often heard a lot about them while I was exploring the music realm in high school. This song and Sample in a Jar – album Hoist 94 got me.

    Rift hurt me so bad that I didn’t like Phish after listening to it. There was too much to relate to. It evoked too many feelings that were too real for me at the time. I shut it out, almost refused to listen to either Rift or Sample in a Jar if I happen to come across the songs in my travels. Forgotten. Until 20 something years later… February of this year…I’ve been hooked. it’s been nothing but a Phishapalooza world for me. Five months of gorging on anything and everything Phish and just now I come across this…thank you for the share and memories.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story! Phish has meant so much to my friend as well…he was badly hurt (nearly killed) by a drunk driver and the music of Phish was sometimes the only thing that could keep the pain at bay. He had a similar experience when he was younger, music festivals drugs and drinking…I’m different to you two, but I find your story fascinating. πŸ™‚

  2. Tom Marshall is one of Trey’s childhood friends and he has been writing their lyrics for years. He is a poet. One of the criticisms about Phish is their lyrics but if you listen closely and take it in, they are beautifully written. I love Phish and the lyrics are a huge reason. Tom is a genius. Rift is by far one of their best studio albums. In my humble opinion πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

