Take a hike! (With me?): Glendalough wanderings

Glendalough
The money shot

I went to Glendalough with a friend and we didn’t really have a plan about where we wanted to hike. There’s only one public bus to Glendalough from Dublin, so we had a very limited time there and we just wanted to wander and see what we could see. We ended up stumbling on a really cool trail (called the Spinc) that we didn’t have time to finish, but that I would love to finish some day. Let’s just say I was not prepared for how gorgeous Glendalough would be.

Glendalough
Pretty boardwalk, reminds me of Sapsucker Woods
Glendalough
Green!
Glendalough
Glendalough
Glendalough
For some reason, this reminds me of Yosemite
Glendalough
Don’t worry the sheep!
Glendalough
They don’t call it the Emerald Isle for nothin!
Glendalough
Lush grassy meadows
Glendalough
Pretty little stream
Glendalough
The upper lake
Glendalough
The waterfall is famous, but underwhelming after living in Ithaca
Glendalough
Glendalough
I like the red pine needles
Glendalough
This wooden boardwalk into the dark forest called to us both and we just had to check it out…turns out this is the Spinc trail
Glendalough
Glendalough
I thought this trail was really fun, but I think my friend almost died
Glendalough
Glendalough
Glendalough
The lakes from above…I heard a tourist call the Upper Lake “the real Guinness”
Glendalough
Glendalough
Glendalough
Glendalough
Glendalough

11 thoughts on “Take a hike! (With me?): Glendalough wanderings

  1. How beautifully lush! I loved the line of trees marching down the ridgeline in #8. Most of the ridges around here are above tree-line, so I have a new appreciation for that. And yes, the waterfall is rather underwhelming, even by west Texas standards (where any water is a joy to find). I hope your friend is brave enough to join you again!

  2. VG! Lovely place. When we went in June, there was some fecker** flying his wretched drone over the upper lake. And back. And out. And back. And co. That apart, peace and quiet. RH **technical Irish term

    • Oh those drones are pretty annoying! When I was learning to climb 40 m trees last year, one scared me half to death because I thought it was a swarm of wasps or honeybees! Fortunately it was just someone curious on the ground with a drone checking me out.

Leave a Reply

