Madera Canyon, Arizona

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

Once I got to looking at my carpenter bee photos yesterday, I realized there were a whole bunch of things I neglected to post about my Arizona trip a couple of years ago. That’s probably true of most of the things I intend to post but then forget to actually write up. Oh well! It’s fun to stumble on them later, even if I don’t remember all the things I would have said.

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

There’s actually a fun story associated with this campsite. My friend and I rented a car and did a camping circuit of Arizona in 2015 over the course of about six days, and we saw just about all the different habitats and ecotones the state has to offer! We kind of shot ourselves in the foot, though, because we alternated from high to low alitutde each night, and never really adjusted to changes in weather and temperature (it was cold camping in the mountains, and boiling hot camping in the desert).

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

But we decided to camp in Madera Canyon in our last night* because it was close to Tucson, where my friend was flying out of the next morning. Because we were about to fly home, we had already returned all the camping gear we had borrowed, which meant we had no sleeping bags, nothing to keep us warm. We had also had no difficulty making a fire each night to this point because the wood had been dry as a bone, but up in Madera Canyon, everything was damp and cold.

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

I remember we had only four matches left, and we were desperately trying to get the fire started on damp wood, but the wind was blowing. I stood by, holding up a shirt to block the wind, while my friend crouched and struck our last match, trying to get it to light the wood. Of course, we weren’t in *such* dire straits, as when we ultimately failed at this attempt, I just begged a couple of matches off nearby campers.

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

That night we spread every article of clothing we had out in the tent trying to make it warm enough to sleep, but we still spent most of the night shivering. Well, it wasn’t the first and it surely won’t be the last time I spent a night shivering in a tent. Adventures! If I had the chance, I would camp here again, but I would be better prepared. 😀

Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon
Madera Canyon

*Hence all of these photos are either dawn or dusk haha

Leave a Reply

