More photos from camping/hiking at June Lake (Mt. St. Helens National Monument)

This is almost a Take a Hike! post because there is hiking involved in getting to June Lake. But it’s pretty minor hiking so…
June Lake camping
The start of the trail up
June Lake camping
I ❤ trail photos…I hope there's at least one other person out there in the world who enjoys trail photos as much as I do haha
June Lake camping
June Lake camping
June Lake camping
Fortunately for me, my camping buddy is supa strong! Also, our strength is fueled by the many many hours of huckleberry picking (well, eating) that we did
June Lake camping
Oooooo…
June Lake camping
Plenty of views of the infamous…
June Lake camping
Beautiful lighting in the forest
June Lake camping
A giant boulder field from the blast…still plenty of dead wood from trees knocked down by Mt. St. Helens' eruption 37 years ago.
June Lake camping
Which is very handy for making many campfires! as my camping buddy and I did. We enjoyed our campfire creations very much and so did these random kiddos on the first night.
June Lake camping
Waking up to a misty, cool morning on the first day
June Lake camping
We were up at the wee hours of a rainy morning on the second day

10 thoughts on “More photos from camping/hiking at June Lake (Mt. St. Helens National Monument)

      • You flatter me! Just Yesterday at the botanic gardens, a group of us stood around a bush with blue berries on it wondering if they were edible blueberries. They looked like into me, but others thought the birds would have eaten them if they were really blueberries. I thought that blueberries only grew in the north and didn’t grow in Colorado. Obviously, the group botanist wasn’t present and the rest of us were clueless. I am proud to say that I CAN positively ID blackberries, strawberries, raspberries and mulberries in the wild. That’s it. My mother-in-law talks about currants and I’m not sure what they are. Or Lingnan berries. This is what I get for growing up in a desert and then moving someplace merely dry. Total ignorance of good food growing wild. It sucks.

      • Thanks for the tip. We speculated and then kept walking. The observation that the birds weren’t eating the berries was all we needed to keep our hands off the berries. My wild cockatoo will eat anything, so for something to be left on the bush meant it wasn’t safe.

Leave a Reply

