Some photos of Syrphid flies

I’m trying to learn to love these little syrphid flies…look, I’m the first to admit that I haven’t always been fond of syrphid flies, but since moving to Ireland, I’ve had to learn to love them…sometimes they’re the only pollinators out and about here!

Here are some common syrphid flies I’ve seen this summer…mostly on Cat’s Ears (Hypochaeris radicata).

I think these are Syrphus ribesii
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
The eyes of the females do not touch, while the male eyes touch at the top of the head.
Syrphid Flies
They are kind of pretty…sometimes
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
Yummy pollen all over her face
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
Fuzzy!

I think this is Platycheirus albimanus
Syrphid Flies
Syrphid Flies
I really like the colour on this one!
Syrphid Flies
Ireland is great for dramatic lighting
Syrphid Flies
Drinking nectar?
Syrphid Flies
On Phacelia tanacetifolia
Syrphid Flies

4 thoughts on “Some photos of Syrphid flies

    • Yeah, I just have a hard time finding them as pretty as bees…they’re don’t have the gorgeous hard exoskeleton “architecture”, which is part of what I love about bees and wasps. In other words, they’re too squishy. Also, instead of being fuzzy like bees, they’re bristly.

Leave a Reply

