Camping at Timothy Lake

After our adventures at June Lake, my friend and I decided to check out Mt. Hood, so we camped the next night at the North Arm campground of Timothy Lake. When we arrived, the campground manager looked at us sideways and said “How did you two find this place?”

“I googled campgrounds near Mt. Hood and this one looked good,” I responded simply.

“Uh huh,” he said, still looking at the two of us dubiously. Later that night, he stopped by our fire and said, “You two want some real wood for your fire?” (We had collected scrap wood from the forest to burn, but we had a roaring blaze going at this point.)

“No thanks!” I said, “We’re happy…we’ve camped a lot, thanks.”

“Uh huh,” he said, looking at my friend, “Hey, shouldn’t you at least be wearing a sweater?”

I could see her starting to steam, so I quickly stepped in and said, “We’re warm next to the fire, thanks!”

“Uh huh,” he said, and drove off in his little green golf cart.

IMG_8034

Our humble tent at Timothy Lake

As soon as he was gone, she starting fuming, “No one needs to tell me when to put on a sweater! I can tell when I’m cold!” I nodded sagely, wondering if he would have given us such a hard time about everything if we had been two males out in the world. She and I are actually veteran campers…both of us have camped our whole lives. Plus, we’re old friends and we’ve been camping together for almost ten years. So I agreed that it was a little weird that this campground manager felt the need to interject his opinion, especially when we hadn’t asked for it or expressed any lack of self confidence.

The next morning he said, “Bet you two were freezing last night, huh? It got down to 40.” (That’s 4C.)

“Nope,” I replied, “Actually, we were perfectly comfortable. I don’t think I even zipped up my sleeping bag.”

“Uh huh,” he said.

Needless to say, we only camped there one night.

 

6 thoughts on “Camping at Timothy Lake

Leave a Reply

